Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
designer
Role playing since the beginning.
badge
You on the list? https://rpggeek.com/geeklist/47027/
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a veteran dungeon master. Heck I started with Chainmail. One thing that is critical to a DM is having the basic mechanics to hand that you need for play. This screen doesn't have it, and because its glossy it will be hard gluing something useful over it.

One of this screens four panels is given over to stuff you need at prep time when developing NPCs. The next 1 1/2 panels is given over to full descriptions of Conditions along with the pictures that take up about 1/3 of that space. We get "Setting a DC", "Cover", "Obscured Areas", "Light" and an alphabetical list of skills and their associated abilities on the last half of the third panel.

The final panel has "Travel Pace", "Encounter Distances", "Damage by Level and Severity" and then a couple of random tables for "something happens" and "Quick Finds". Oh and 1/3 of the screen again used up by a painting of the Tarrasque attacking a city, and some sketches of dice with goblins hiding behind them.

Really?

"Setting a DC" is marginally helpful to a novice DM, certainly.

Of the other data "Cover", "Light", "Travel Pace" and "Encounter Distances" are useful.

So did no one think to ask an actual dungeon master what they have on their home made screens?

Weapons and damage dice maybe?
Armour info?
Combat actions?
What about the character advancement table?

Each of these would have been more useful than the NPC stuff, which a DM will have put together during prep, including some random names that fit into the culture of their games rather than the lame random name generator.

For better and more useful DM info have a look at Stan Shine's nice 3 pager.
Or for very colourful and useful look at this 6 pager by Ozuro at reddit.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pokke
Belgium
Werchter
optional
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
Quote: